Banner image for Metal Digest - Advertise With Us

Blue Öyster Cult – ‘Agents of Fortune’

Release Date
Columbia Records
Hard Rock/Heavy Metal

This morning in the Metal Digest office we’re having our breakfast with a huge side of irony because we’re blasting out ‘Agents of Fortune’, the 1976 album from Blue Öyster Cult. The New Yorkers had already tasted success with not only the ‘black and white’ albums, as well as the likes of ‘Secret Treaties’, but it was ‘Agents of Fortune’ which blasted Blue Öyster Cult into the annals of rock and metal history with the massive single ‘(Don’t Fear) The Reaper’ famed for its overuse of the cowbell, famous for its satire on a Saturday Night Live sketch. However, ‘Agents of Fortune’ is so much more than this track and tracks such as ‘This Ain’t the Summer of Love’, ‘Tattoo Vampire’ and ‘E.T.I. (Extra Terrestrial Intelligence)’ explore a sound which is biting and yet equally melodic. So this morning, dig out ‘Agents of Fortune’, crank it up loud and never be anyone’s pigeon.

Come on in!

Metal Digest is an online music magazine specializing in rock and metal. It is aimed at the mobile market, who can get their fix whilst on the go. Whether you walk, drive, fly, sail or teleport make sure you do it with Metal Digest, bitesize heavy metal rock and metal news, reviews and interviews for when you’re on the go.

More Stories
Arde – ‘Ancestral Cult’