Banner image for Metal Digest - Advertise With Us

SPASTICUS and BOIA stream CALIGARI split mini-album

On May 5th internationally, Caligari Records will release Spasticating Execution, a special split mini-album between Spasticus and Boia, on cassette tape format; the CD version will be co-released with Necrolatry Records. And today, the Death Metal Promotion YouTube channel streams the split in its entirety. Hear Spasticus and Boia‘s Spasticating Execution in its entirety exclusively HERE.

Two upstarts in the thriving-yet-overlooked Italian death metal underground, Spasticus and Boia both here offer three exclusive tracks each, making for a 22-minute plunge into dankest Italian sewers. With a demo and EP already to their name and working with the likes of Rotted Life and Horror Pain Gore Death, among others, Spasticus are off to a swift start in their two years of existence. Not surprisingly, their sound is also swift, recalling turn-of-the-’90s grind-leaning death metal that places a premium on catchiness – and clear, crunchy production, making that catchiness hit that much harder.


Boia are looser by comparison, but equal their split-mates in sheer filthiness. From headbanging midtempos to scurrying blasts, twisting and turning but somehow still memorable, Boia surely recall classic Autopsy across their entry here and yet give it a grimy giallo aspect endemic to their Italian heritage. Naturally, Caligari released the band’s debut EP, Chivalry of Death, back in 2017, so this new split is a welcome return for them.

In the leadup to its international release on May 5th, stream Spasticating Execution in its entirety exclusively HERE, courtesy of the Death Metal Promotion YouTube channel. Preorder info can be found HERE at Caligari‘s Bandcamp. Cover and tracklisting are as follows:

Tracklisting for Spasticus / Boia’s Spasticating Execution
1. Spasticus – Crypt of Freaks
2. Spasticus – Inbred Earth

3. Spasticus – Hideous Eternal
4. Boia – Coffin Claustrophobia
5. Boia – Putrid Warhorses of Death
6. Boia – Sodomize the Nun [Postribulum cover]


Come on in!

Metal Digest is an online music magazine specializing in rock and metal. It is aimed at the mobile market, who can get their fix whilst on the go. Whether you walk, drive, fly, sail or teleport make sure you do it with Metal Digest, bitesize heavy metal rock and metal news, reviews and interviews for when you’re on the go.

More Stories
Soulfly – ‘The Soul Remains Insane: The Studio Albums 1998-2004’