Banner image for Metal Digest - Advertise With Us

DRUID LORD premiere new track

Druid Lord premiere the new track “Relics of the Dead” at heavily trafficked web-portal The track is the second to be revealed from the band’s  highly anticipated third album, Relics of the Dead, set for international release on January 21st, 2022 via Hells Headbangers on CD and cassette tape formats; the vinyl LP version will follow later next year.  Hear Druid Lord‘s title track “Relics of the Dead” in its entirety exclusively HERE.

For years, Druid Lord were one of the metal underground’s best-kept secrets. It wasn’t until the band signed with Hells Headbangers for the release of their second album, Grotesque Offerings, when Druid Lord finally started receiving their due. Massively acclaimed, Grotesque Offerings displayed Druid Lord in all their doom-death glory: eerie, utterly crushing, and simply MOLTEN beyond measure. This was the sound of supernatural horror writ large, painted with bold strokes and even bolder heaviness.

And while eight years separated their two full-lengths to date, thankfully, Druid Lord return in comparatively quicker time with Relics of the Dead. Wisely sticking to the same formula as its celebrated predecessor – lurching-tank riffs, lurking-dread atmosphere, completely skull-crushing production – here do Druid Lord render their third album a more concise counterpart that, somehow, also finds them at their doomiest. The leads still linger like funeral fog, the sense of space even wider (and eerier) than before, and the slo-mo riffs surprisingly catchy, but the eight-song/46-minute runtime makes the cinematic effect feel more compact. Of course, it’s Druid Lord and there’s no compromise in their titanic doom-death, but the spellbinding acoustic interlude “Nightside Conjuring” chills to the fucking bone while the outro “Ethereal Decay” is likewise aptly titled – small, thoroughly thought-through developments from a band continually at the height of their powers.

If Grotesque Offerings was a mini-classic in the making, harkening the arrival of the new doom-death lords, then Relics of the Dead is Druid Lord‘s grand coronation!

Witness the next sounds of that coronation with the brand-new title track “Relics of the Dead” exclusively HERE, courtesy of Witness the first sounds of that coronation with the previously revealed tracks “Festering Tombs” HERE and “Thirteen Days of Death” HERE, both at Hells Headbangers‘official YouTube channel. Preorder info can be found HERE. Cover and tracklisting are as follows:

Tracklisting for Druid Lord’s Relics of the Dead

1. Relics of the Dead
2. Thirteen Days of Death
3. Mangled as the Hideous Feed
4. Nightside Conjuring
5. Immolated Into Ashes
6. Festering Tombs
7. Monarch Macabre
8. Ethereal Decay


“When you need metal, go to hell!” 

Come on in!

Metal Digest is an online music magazine specializing in rock and metal. It is aimed at the mobile market, who can get their fix whilst on the go. Whether you walk, drive, fly, sail or teleport make sure you do it with Metal Digest, bitesize heavy metal rock and metal news, reviews and interviews for when you’re on the go.

More Stories
Panssarituho – ‘Loputon Teurastus’