Banner image for Metal Digest - Advertise With Us

THE HELLACOPTERS – New Single & Video “Reap A Hurricane” Streaming NOW! Pre-Order for Ltd. 7 inch Single Starts Today!

Alright Already Now! We are proud to announce a new studio album by legendary Swedish high-energy rock and roll band THE HELLACOPTERS called Eyes Of Oblivion, which is set to be released on April 1st, 2022. It will be the first album since the release of their temporary farewell record Head Off in 2008! And boy, y’all are in for a treat!

NICKE ANDERSSON (vocals & guitars) reveals: “The album has 10 songs and although it’s obviously not easy to be objective at all, I think musically it sums up everything we’ve touched upon from the start in 1994 up until now. Some of the songs date back as far as 10 years or more, and some were written more recently. It’s rock and roll played with high energy, so for lack of a better term, I say High Energy Rock And Roll. You could say it sounds like THE BEATLES meets JUDAS PRIEST or LYNYRD SKYNYRDmeets THE RAMONES but the best way to describe this album is that it sounds like THE HELLACOPTERS today.

To celebrate the kickoff of this new chapter of THE HELLACOPTERS, the Swedes are sharing with you a BRAND NEW SINGLE, the anthemic album opener, “Reap A Hurricane”! The song presents itself as a potential future fan-favorite with all of the juicy riffs and in-your-face swagger you could’ve possibly hoped for, topped off with a captivating chorus that won’t leave your head any time soon. In short – it sounds as if the band had never been away!



THE HELLACOPTERS were formed in 1994 by Nicke Andersson (vocals and guitar), Dregen (guitar), Kenny Håkansson (bass), and Robert Eriksson (drums). At that time Andersson was renowned in the metal scene for his work in the well-known Swedish death metal band ENTOMBED and Dregen had built a reputation as co-founder and guitarist of his main band BACKYARD BABIES.

Next to THE HIVES and THE BACKYARD BABIES, THE HELLACOPTERS are considered one of the most important and influential Swedish rock bands of the 1990s and 2000s – they achieved two Gold certifications, won the Swedish Grammy and a Kerrang! award, have amassed 100 million streams to date, and have supported and toured with the likes of The Rolling Stones, Kiss, Black Sabbath, ZZ Top, or the Foo Fighters. They have released seven albums, ranging fuzzed-out & supercharged garage punk on Supershitty To The Max! (1996) & Payin’ The Dues (1997) to perfectly crafted & soulful high-energy rock’n’roll with a strong vintage vibe on the following albums, Grande Rock (1999), High Visibility (2000), By The Grace Of God (2002) and Rock & Roll Is Dead (2005). A compilation of cover songs called “Head Off” was released in 2008 and marked the band’s last album before ultimately dissolving. In addition, THE HELLACOPTERS have released almost four dozen singles, splits, and EPs until this day, most of which got the limited 7inch or 10inch vinyl treatment, making them a vinyl collector’s dream … or worst nightmare.

THE HELLACOPTERS reunited in 2016 to play a few shows for the 20th anniversary of their debut album, and have proven an unstoppable force ever since, performing at Sweden Rock Festival, Psycho Las Vegas, Download, Hellfest, Roskilde, Ilosaarirock, among others. In October 2021 they announced that they had signed a deal with Nuclear Blast Records and a new album would be in the works for Spring 2022.
The Hellacopters – Live in Concert 2021

17 Dec – Globen – Stockholm, Sweden

18 Dec – Göransson Arena – Sandviken, Sweden

The Hellacopters – Live in Concert 2022

11 Apr – Tavastia, Helsinki, Finland

12 Apr – Tavastia, Helsinki, Finland

13 Apr – Luttako – Jyväskylä, Finland

08 – 11 Jun – Sweden Rock, Sweden 

15 – 18 Jun – Copenhell, Denmark

29 – 30 Jul – Reymire, Sweden

16 Jul – Ingolstadt, Phnx Rising Festival, Germany

22 Jul – Ullevi, Gothenburg, Sweden
w/ IRON MAIDEN, Airborne

27 Aug – Hamburg, Damage Done Fest, Germany(more dates to come!)

Come on in!

Metal Digest is an online music magazine specializing in rock and metal. It is aimed at the mobile market, who can get their fix whilst on the go. Whether you walk, drive, fly, sail or teleport make sure you do it with Metal Digest, bitesize heavy metal rock and metal news, reviews and interviews for when you’re on the go.

More Stories
Crisix – ‘Full HD’