Banner image for Metal Digest - Advertise With Us

THE O’REILLYS AND THE PADDYHATS reveal second video from anniversary album forthcoming from METALVILLE

Today, Irish punk sensations  The O’Reillys and the Paddyhats reveal the new video “Yesterday’s Rebel (10 Year Version).” The track is the second to be revealed from their forthcoming anniversary album, In Strange Waters, set for international release on October 22nd via Metalville Records. Until now, the Paddyhats‘ biggest experiment – a dance song! Here is one of the reasons why this special album is called In Strange Waters: see & hear The O’Reillys and the Paddyhats‘ “Yesterday’s Rebel (10 Year Version)” video in its entirety HERE at the band’s official YouTube channel.

The title In Strange Waters, the anniversary album of the Paddyhats on the occasion of their 10th anniversary, is absolutely justified: they have reinterpreted the songs, which have meanwhile been viewed a total of over 70 million times on YouTube, in truly unusual genres. Far away from their usual Irish folk punk, they steer the ship unerringly into the waters of pop, metal, ska, and barbershop music. Nevertheless, the band’s identity resonates in every note, because even if the waters are foreign, the ship is the same.

The O’Reillys and the Paddyhats, as the cover makes clear, look at themselves through completely different eyes and take a step beyond Irish folk punk, not least with a new song that was not actually planned. In addition, the band was able to win none other than the internationally successful rock/metal icon Doro Pesch as a vocal partner for the 10-year version of “We All Know.”

In the meantime, see & hear the brand-new video for “Yesterday’s Rebel (10 Year Version)” video HERE at The O’Reillys and the Paddyhats‘ official YouTube channel. Also see & hear the previously revealed video for “Ferryman (10 Year Version)” HERE, also at the band’s official YouTube channel. Cover and tracklisting for In Strange Waters are as follows:

Tracklisting for The O’Reillys and the Paddyhats’ In Strange Waters
1. Barrels of Whiskey
2. Fair Old Lady
3. Ferryman
4. Light Up
5. Irish Way
6. Green Blood
7. Dogs on the Leash
8. We All Know (feat. Doro Pesch)
9. Beautiful Fear
10. Yesterday’s Rebel

Sean O’Reilly –  vocals, acoustic guitar, low whistle, piano, bottleneck guitar
Dwight O’Reilly –  vocals, banjo, mandoline, bouzouki, accordion
Connor O’Sullivan –  electric guitar, acoustic guitar
Tom O’Shaughnessy – bass guitar, bass ukulele, backing vocals
Jones Murphy – drums, choir
Mia Callaghan – fiddle, backing vocals
Ian McFlannigan – backing vocals

additional musicians:
Thomas Meckel, Max Bothe – additional choir vocals
Thomas Braun – trombone
Florian Hohendahl – trumpet
Fabian Heis – saxophone



Come on in!

Metal Digest is an online music magazine specializing in rock and metal. It is aimed at the mobile market, who can get their fix whilst on the go. Whether you walk, drive, fly, sail or teleport make sure you do it with Metal Digest, bitesize heavy metal rock and metal news, reviews and interviews for when you’re on the go.

More Stories
Questions on the Go | Mothflesh