Banner image for Metal Digest - Advertise With Us

OFERMOD set release date for new SHADOW album, reveal first track

Shadow Records (distributed & marketed by Regain Records) announces December 3rd as the international release date for Ofermod’s highly anticipated fifth album, Mysterium Iniquitatis, on CD and cassette tape formats. The vinyl LP version will be released on March 29th, 2022.

By now, Ofermod should require no introduction. Formed back in the dark days of 1996, the band released their debut EP, Mystérion Tés Anomias, in 1998. Although a mere two songs, Ofermod’s opening salvo sowed the seeds for the orthodox black metal movement that would begin to blossom in the new millennium, alongside fellow Shadow Records alumni Funeral Mist and Malign. Crime and chaos followed mainman Belfagor everywhere he went, and the band’s momentum remained halted. However, Ofermod eventually became a working entity again, starting with 2008’s Tiamtü full-length, and through magick and will did more recordings follow: Thaumiel (2012), the two-song Serpents’ Dance EP (2014), Sol Nox (2017), and the posthumous Pentagrammaton, originally intended to be the band’s debut album. Each one put forth a pivotal piece of the ever-evolving puzzle of Ofermod – ever the same, yet always different.

And the puzzle continues to be eternal, no matter when or how an Ofermod recording arises. Such can be said for Mysterium Iniquitatis, which sees the original lineup joined together once again – Belfagor on guitar and vocalist Nebiros (MalignMephorash) – with session bass by Magnus “Devo” Andersson (ex-Marduk) and session drums by Calle Larsson. Indeed, Mysterium Iniquitatis immediately reminds of that infinitely influential Mystérion Tés Anomias EP, but tempered by age, experience, and poise. At once martial and mesmerizing, fiery and furious, but executed with a crispness and finesse that’s the penultimate in professionalism, Mysterium Iniquitatis presents Ofermod at their tightest and tautest, their characteristically malefic melodicism taking on new contours when put through such a startlingly accomplished soundfield. Likewise, Nebiros’ vocals bring back the grimness of yore, straddling past, present, and future with equal aplomb; his clear enunciation truly raises the hackles. The production – courtesy of Andersson at Endarker Studios – cuts like a gleaming knife and rusty axe simultaneously, the perfect iron-fisted complement to the band’s ever-surging and ceaselessly unfolding songwriting here. Special mention must be made of the male choirs on the opening title track – courtesy of Thomas Ericksson (Year of the Goat) and Lars Broddesson (ex-Marduk) – conveying a grandiosity beyond compare.

With suitably grandiose cover artwork courtesy of John Albin Hampus Ekström, Mysterium Iniquitatis is the vital & virile entrance into Ofermod’s fourth decade of existence.

Herald that entrance with the brand-new title track “Myterium Iniquitatis” HERE at Regain‘s Bandcamp, where all formats can be preordered. Aforementioned cover art and tracklisting are as follows:

Tracklisting for Ofermod’s Mysterium Iniquitatis
1. Mysterium Iniquitatis
2. Inax Ya Lil
3. When the Blacksmith Killed the Shepherd
4. Sacrosanctus
5. Poraios de Rejectis
6. Consecration
7. Loyal to Belial
8. Arteria Urterina


Come on in!

Metal Digest is an online music magazine specializing in rock and metal. It is aimed at the mobile market, who can get their fix whilst on the go. Whether you walk, drive, fly, sail or teleport make sure you do it with Metal Digest, bitesize heavy metal rock and metal news, reviews and interviews for when you’re on the go.

More Stories
Bathory – ‘Under the Sign of the Black Mark’