Banner image for Metal Digest - Advertise With Us

Famous Underground – ‘In My Reflection’ EP

Babylon Music Group
Slik Toxik, Kik Tracee, Junkyard Drive
Release Date
June 25, 2021
Babylon Music Group
Hard Rock

The advice is always the same; “write what you know about.” Back in the day, Slik Toxik sang of parties and the wildlife; and they did it very well…Juno award-winning no less. Fast forward a bit and, its core members are still playing outstanding Hard Rock as Famous Underground but incorporating a new maturity.

 ‘In My Reflection’ is firmly rooted in the classic 80s and 90s and is packed with plenty of swagger and a hint of sleaze. Great variation of tempos, ultra-tight rhythms, and first-class vocals are the hallmarks here. Vocalist Nick Walsh has clearly taken care of his voice.  The only detraction is some moments sound a little too influenced by vintage Megadeth. Okay, a LOT. The fact they have previously covered Mustaine, et al says something, I suppose. Truthfully, they do not need to emulate anyone; they have the chops to be themselves and pack a sizable wallop.

Songs of note:

“Dark One of the Two” is jammed with crunch and chug, but also deals with heady subject matter. There is a palpable air of maturity, but in the end, it gives us exactly what we came for.

“Corrupted” is a driving and dark number, filled with great hooks, searing guitar leads, and vocals that…well let’s see if he can hit those notes in concert.

‘In My Reflection’ is a combination of older and new material, with (as I understand) another EP forthcoming. I look forward to hearing this as well.

firmly rooted in the classic 80s and 90s sound

Come on in!

Metal Digest is an online music magazine specializing in rock and metal. It is aimed at the mobile market, who can get their fix whilst on the go. Whether you walk, drive, fly, sail or teleport make sure you do it with Metal Digest, bitesize heavy metal rock and metal news, reviews and interviews for when you’re on the go.

More Stories
Mortuary Drape – ‘Wisdom – Vibration – Repent’ EP