Banner image for Metal Digest - Advertise With Us

NO LIGHT ESCAPES Launch Music Video for “Cascade”

Vancouver-based modern metal/hardcore band NO LIGHT ESCAPES (fka TECHNICAL DAMAGE) have released the official music video for “Cascade” (featuring Alex Badger). The song serves as the third single off the band’s forthcoming album, The Purity of Grief.

Stream the video for “Cascade” here:

Recorded over the course of 2020, The Purity of Grief serves as an anthology of songs addressing how we manage loss, trauma and pain in the many parts of our lives.

The band has already released two singles from The Purity of Grief. Stream “In Absentia” at

Stream “Ruminate” at

The Purity of Grief will be out on May 5.

Follow NO LIGHT ESCAPES and get streaming and pre-order information for The Purity of Grief at

NO LIGHT ESCAPES is a five-piece metal band based in Vancouver, British Columbia. Formed in 2016 under the name TECHNICAL DAMAGE, NO LIGHT ESCAPES has sought to balance the extremes of modern metal and traditional metalcore with an array of other genres, creating a unique style of heavy music that differentiates them from their peers in Canadian metal.

The band’s sound is influenced by groups such as After The Burial, Converge, Born of Osiris, Poison the Well, Beyond Creation, The Contortionist and other groups in the hardcore and metalcore sphere of music. In September 2018, NO LIGHT ESCAPES released their debut album, The Introspect under the TECHNICAL DAMAGE name.

The album was followed by an extensive run of shows throughout Western Canada in support of its release in 2018 and 2019.

In late 2019, NO LIGHT ESCAPES returned to the studio to begin the production of their sophomore album with Tim Creviston (Spiritbox, Misery Signals). Created during the massive social upheaval caused by the COVID-19 pandemic in 2020, the band formally changed their name from TECHNICAL DAMAGE to NO LIGHT ESCAPES to reflect the transformation of their sound and mission for the future.

Kurtis Jeffrey – Vocals
Peter Bagchi – Guitars
Harrison Shaw – Guitars
Chris McIlroy – Bass
Michael Bagchi – Drums

Come on in!

Metal Digest is an online music magazine specializing in rock and metal. It is aimed at the mobile market, who can get their fix whilst on the go. Whether you walk, drive, fly, sail or teleport make sure you do it with Metal Digest, bitesize heavy metal rock and metal news, reviews and interviews for when you’re on the go.

More Stories
Krokus – ‘One Vice at a Time’