Banner image for Metal Digest - Advertise With Us

Dark The Suns – ‘Suru Raivosi Sydämeni Pimeydessä’

Inverse Records
Before the Dawn, Insomnium, Noumena, Draconian, Rapture
Release Date
April 9, 2021
Inverse Records
Melodic Metal

                Melancholy and melodic/Gothic metal go together like burger patties and buns and Dark the Suns (DtS) have returned from hiatus to release their first album since 2010 with ‘Suru Raivosi Sydämeni Pimeydessä’.

                Good things come to those who wait and with ‘Sura Raivosi…’, DtS continue to hammer out their previous style albeit with a renewed vigour and energy. What the listener gets here is a smouldering, brooding album of melodic passages intertwined with dark imagery that reflect upon the evil in the world.  Furthermore, there are large swathes of melodic death metal overtones here, having all the hallmarks of other Finnish bands such as Insomnium, Before the Dawn and Noumena; this means that although the heavy on the soul searching, ‘Suru Raivosi…’ is oddly depressingly uplifting as tracks such as ‘The Secrets of Time’, ‘Seeker’ and the title track convey a feeling that reaches into your very soul, freezing your very innards before rocking you to sleep in a warm hypothermic euphoria.  However, there isn’t anything that hasn’t been heard before and although interesting and enjoyable, it is hard to pick out something that is unique or instantly identifiable as DtS.

                Yet, does this really matter? With ‘Suru Raivosi…’ DtS have released something that is worth listening to and coupled with some strong alcohol and a cold winter’s night would go hand-in-hand very, very well.

smouldering and brooding

Come on in!

Metal Digest is an online music magazine specializing in rock and metal. It is aimed at the mobile market, who can get their fix whilst on the go. Whether you walk, drive, fly, sail or teleport make sure you do it with Metal Digest, bitesize heavy metal rock and metal news, reviews and interviews for when you’re on the go.

More Stories
Fugatta – ‘The Darkest Planet’